Wed. Feb 28th, 2024 Online News December 30th, 2023:The sisters Lahiri Komaravelly and Deekshita Komaravelly finally tied at 15 points each but the younger and lighter Lahiri won 5 races and her sibling only 4 pipping Deekshita to clinch the gold and the Telangana State Sub Junior Sailing Championship  

Till yesterday Deekshita was leading by just one point and all she had to do was keep her sister behind which she did in the 9th race but faltered in the 10th race coming 3rd with Govardhan Pallara squeezing  into second place giving Lahiri the edge and the coveted gold

The last two races were sailed in very light winds and the regatta closed with just 10 races due to no wind giving Lahiri an edge

The boys were led by Banny Bongur , Vinod Dandu and Rizwan Mohammad but significantly behind the girls overall in points .

The fleets was mixed gender and the girls displayed superlative performances  winning significantly across both sub junior and junior championships beating the boys .

“Our Naavika program for girls with the tagline Dignity Through Sports has provided us with great results “, said Suheim Sheikh , President of The Yacht Club of Hyderabad who hosted the Championships at Hussain Sagar Hyderabad  

In the Juniors Jhansi was comfortable with 8 points and the gold even before the last days racing and wins the Junior State Champinship overall and girls gold  too followed by Vaishnavi Veeravamsham and Thanuja Kameshwar in the silver and bronze positions

Shravan Kathravath gets the Boys gold

Dr.Shailaja Ramaiyer, IAS . Principal Secretary Sports and Youth Affairs graced the prize giving as Chief Guest and after a fleet inspection provided the young sailors an encouraging speech to do well at the forthcoming nationals and like Preethi Kongara represent India at the Asian Games and hopefully the Olympics

Final Leaderboard

Sub junior Girls

1 Lahiri Komaravelly              15 points
2 Deekshita  Komaravelly     15 points
3 Bindu Rathlavath                  71 points

Sub junior Boys

1 Banny Bongur                  35 points
2 Vinod Dandu                   40 points
3 Mohammad Rizwan          52 points

Junior Girls

1 Jhansi Priva Laveti                 12 points
2 Vaishnavi Veeravamsham.       26 points
3 Thanuja Kameshwar               30 points

Junior Boys

Shravan Kathrawath     18 points
Daniel Rajkumar            32 points